Frackie's Road to Frugality


Homemade Cleaners
April 11, 2010, 2:39 pm
Filed under: Homemade Remedies | Tags: , , ,

This is my next avenue of frugality! I have already started with a few homemade recipes: all purpose cleaner and toilet bowl cleaner. I didn’t realize that vinegar and baking soda can clean just about anything! I ran out of our all-purpose commercial cleaner and I decided, ok, I’m gonna try to see how it works and make my own. It was so easy to make. I used the old spray bottle and put 1/4 cup of baking soda in it and 3/4 of white vinegar. Then filled the rest up with water. Next time I’ll do the water first because of the foaming reaction I got! But, it has worked just as good as the store bought chemical one. I just use it around the kitchen mainly.

I also had a dirty toilet and realized I was out of toilet bowl cleaner. What a perfect opportunity to experiment!!! So, I poured 1/4 cup of baking soda and 1 cup of vinegar into the basin and let it sit for a few minutes. Then I scrubbed it and …perfection! Worked BETTER than my old toilet bowl cleaner! Wow, why haven’t I ever done this stuff before. Here is a website where I got my new recipes from and printed them out and put them on my fridge. I can’t wait to folish my floors with baby oil and use olive oil to clean my husbands boots! And just think of all the money you can save on cleaning supplies!!!

$$$cha-ching$$$

http://www.eartheasy.com/live_nontoxic_solutions.htm

UPDATE: 4/13/10: I used a gallon of warm water, 1 cup of vinegar, and a few drops of baby oil to clean my linolium kitchen floor and am sooooooo surprised at how shiny and clean it turned out. I always have trouble with this floor because it is a high traffic area and, wow, the vinegar did wonders for it!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

